Utah Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

Utah Divorce Issues & Resources

Utah Divorce

Utah Divorce Residency Requirements

To obtain a Utah divorce, either spouse must have been resident of Utah (or a member of the Armed Forces stationed in Utah) and a resident of the county where the divorce is filed for more than 3 months immediately prior to filing.

Utah Divorce Grounds

The grounds for a Utah divorce are:

  • irreconcilable differences of the marriage;

  • living separate and apart without cohabitation for 3 years under a judicial decree of separation;

  • impotence;

  • adultery;

  • conviction of a felony;

  • willful desertion for 1 year;

  • cruel and inhuman treatment;

  • willful neglect;

  • incurable insanity; and

  • habitual intemperance (drunkenness).

Utah Law Links

Click Here for Utah Message Board