South Carolina Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

South Carolina Divorce Issues & Resources

South Carolina Divorce

South Carolina Residency Requirements

To file for divorce in South Carolina, one of the following requirements must be met. If both parties are state residents, the party filing for divorce must have been a resident of the state for three months. If one of the parties is not a resident, the other party must have been a state resident for one year.

South Carolina Divorce Filing Requirements

  • the county where the non-filing party resides;

  • the county where the filing party resides if the non-filing party does not live in South Carolina; or

  • the county where the spouses last lived together if both still live in South Carolina.

South Carolina Divorce Grounds

Living separate and apart without cohabitation for 1 year; adultery; alcoholism and/or drug addiction; physical abuse or reasonable apprehension of physical abuse; and willful desertion for 1 year.

South Carolina Law Links

Click Here for South Carolina Message Board