Rhode Island Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

Rhode Island Divorce Issues & Resources

Rhode Island Divorce

Rhode Island Residency Requirements

To obtain a Rhode Island divorce, either spouse must have been a resident for one year prior to filing.

Rhode Island Divorce Filing Requirements

A Rhode Island divorce may be filed for in the county of residence of the party filing for divorce, unless the 1-year residency requirement has been satisfied by the non-filing party's residence. In such case, the divorce must be filed for in the county of the non-filing party’s residence.

Rhode Island Divorce Grounds

The grounds for a Rhode Island divorce are:

  • irreconcilable differences which have caused the irremediable breakdown of the marriage;

  • living separate and apart without cohabitation for 3 years;

  • impotence;

  • adultery;

  • abandonment and presumed dead;

  • alcoholism and/or drug addiction;

  • confinement for incurable insanity;

  • failure to consummate marriage;

  • willful desertion for 5 years (or less within the discretion of the court);

  • cruel and inhuman treatment;

  • bigamy;

  • life imprisonment;

  • spouse is of unsound mind;

  • incest; and

  • gross neglect.

Rhode Island Law Links

Click Here for Rhode Island Message Board