Pennsylvania Divorce Laws, Child Support and Attorneys

Pennsylvania Divorce Issues & Resources

Pennsylvania Divorce

Pennsylvania Divorce Residency Requirements

To file for a Pennsylvania divorce, either party must have been a State resident for at least six months prior to filing for divorce.

Pennsylvania Divorce Filing Requirements

A Pennsylvania divorce may be filed for in a county where

  • the non-filing party resides;

  • the filing party resides, if the non-filing party does not live in Pennsylvania; 

  • where the marriage home was, if the filing party continuously resided in the same county; 

  • prior to 6 months after separation, and if the non-filing party agrees, where the filing party resides;

  • prior to 6 months after separation, and if neither spouse lives in the county of the marriage home, where either spouse lives; and 

  • after 6 months after separation, where either spouse lives.

Pennsylvania Divorce Grounds

The grounds for a Pennsylvania divorce are:

  • an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage with the spouses living separate and apart without cohabitation for 2 years;

  • an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage and the spouses have both filed affidavits that they consent to the divorce (90 days must elapse after the filing for divorce before the court will grant a divorce);

  • adultery;

  • bigamy;

  • imprisonment for 2 or more years;

  • confinement for incurable insanity for 18 months;

  • willful desertion for 1 year;

  • cruel and inhuman treatment endangering the life of the spouse; and

  • personal indignities.

Pennsylvania Law Links

Click Here for Pennsylvania Message Board