Oklahoma Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

Oklahoma Divorce Issues & Resources

Oklahoma Divorce

Oklahoma Divorce Residency Requirements

To file for an Oklahoma divorce, either party must have been a resident of the State for six months immediately prior to filing for divorce.

Oklahoma Divorce Filing Requirements

An Oklahoma divorce may be filed for in the county in which the plaintiff has been a resident for 30 days or in the county where the defendant resides. 

Oklahoma Divorce Grounds

The grounds for an Oklahoma divorce are:

  • Incompatibility;

  • impotence;

  • adultery;

  • abandonment for 1 year;

  • imprisonment;

  • confinement for incurable insanity for 5 years;

  • cruel and inhuman treatment;

  • fraud;

  • habitual intemperance (drunkenness);

  • the wife pregnant by another at the time of the marriage;

  • gross neglect; and

  • a foreign divorce which is not valid in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Law Links

Click Here for Oklahoma Message Board