North Dakota Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

North Dakota Divorce Issues & Resources

North Dakota Divorce

North Dakota Divorce Residency Requirements

 The party filing for a North Dakota divorce must be a state resident for at least 6 months prior to the filing of the divorce or the entry of the final divorce.

North Dakota Divorce Filing Requirements

 If the non-filing party is a resident of the state, the North Dakota divorce must be filed in the county where he or she resides. If the non-filing party is not a resident, the divorce may be filed for in any county that the filing party designates in the complaint.

North Dakota Divorce Grounds

The grounds for North Dakota divorce are:

  • irreconcilable differences;

  • adultery;

  • confinement for incurable insanity for a period of 5 years;

  • conviction of a felony;

  • willful desertion;

  • cruel and inhuman treatment;

  • willful neglect; and

  • habitual intemperance (drunkenness).

North Dakota Law Links

Click Here for North Dakota Message Board