Michigan Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

Michigan Divorce Issues & Resources

Michigan Divorce

Michigan Divorce Residency Requirements

 To file for a Michigan divorce, one of the parties must have been a State residence for 180 days immediately prior to the commencement of the action and a resident of the county where the divorce is filed for 10 days. However, a person may file for divorce in any county in the state without meeting the 10-day residency requirement if the defendant was born in or is a citizen of a foreign country and there are minor children in the marriage that are at risk of being taken out of the country by the defendant.

Michigan Divorce Grounds

The only ground for Michigan divorce is a breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.

Michigan Law Links

Click Here for Michigan Message Board