Maine Divorce Laws, Child Support, and Attorneys

Maine Divorce Issues & Resources

Maine Divorce

Maine Divorce Residency Requirements

To file for a Maine divorce, either party must be a resident of the State, or the marriage or the grounds for divorce must have occurred in Maine. Otherwise, a person filing for divorce must be a resident for 6 months immediately prior to filing for divorce.

Maine Divorce Grounds

The grounds for a Maine divorce are as follows:

  • irreconcilable marital differences;

  • impotence;

  • adultery;

  • alcoholism and/or drug addiction;

  • confinement for incurable insanity for 7 consecutive years;

  • desertion for 3 years;

  • cruelty or abuse; and

  • nonsupport whereby a spouse is able to provide support but grossly, wantonly, or cruelly refuses or neglects to provide suitable maintenance for the complaining spouse.

Maine Law Links

Click Here for Maine Message Board